Russian 1126-101 (non-native speakers): Syllabus
  • Rooms and times (navigation bar on the left): when, where, and who
  • Course Description: materials, homework guide, tests, grading
  • Course evaluation form: online, any time, anonymous
  • Fonts: if Russian accented vowels are not displayed correctly, see note at the bottom of the window.
  • Homework: each row in this table shows the assignment for the day.
  • Printable view of this syllabus

This syllabus is not prepared ahead of time because we want to read about current events (for the most part). Each assignment is posted a couple of days before the class.

Week 1: Sunday 01/22/23 - Saturday 01/28/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
No class. Come to the otrganizational meeting, see Current Announcements on the Welcome page.
Thursday
Read the course description (the link at the top) about the use of online translators and other details of the course. Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): «Желаю себе и всем хорошо умереть»: как русские писатели относились к Новому году Как Толстой, Чехов, Пушкин и Ахматова встречали Новый год Максим Воронежский.
Week 2: Sunday 01/29/23 - Saturday 02/04/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read the course description (the link at the top) about the use of online translators and other details of the course. Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): «Желаю себе и всем хорошо умереть»: как русские писатели относились к Новому году Как Толстой, Чехов, Пушкин и Ахматова встречали Новый год Максим Воронежский.
Thursday
Read the course description (the link at the top) about the use of online translators and other details of the course. Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): «Курочка по зернышку клюет». Главные заявления Путина по итогам года. .
Week 3: Sunday 02/05/23 - Saturday 02/11/23 [show/hide]
Сегћдня воскресљнье, пїтое февралї.
Tuesday
Read the course description (the link at the top) about the use of online translators and other details of the course. Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): В счастливой неопределённости. Глава ВЦИОМ о предновогодних настроениях.
Thursday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): Донбасс прозвучал. На московской сцене выступили талантливые дети из ДНР.
Week 4: Sunday 02/12/23 - Saturday 02/18/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): Страны бывшего Советского Союза захлестнула волна эмигрантов из РФ.
Thursday
Week 5: Sunday 02/19/23 - Saturday 02/25/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Thursday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): Страшный мир в бумажном переплете / / Независимая газета.
Week 6: Sunday 02/26/23 - Saturday 03/04/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
февральские каникулы
Thursday
Read the course description (the link at the top) about the use of online translators and other details of the course. Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): Поезд смял такси, как кусок фольги. Страшное ДТП в Подмосковье .
Week 7: Sunday 03/05/23 - Saturday 03/11/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Thursday
Week 8: Sunday 03/12/23 - Saturday 03/18/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Thursday
Week 9: Sunday 03/19/23 - Saturday 03/25/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read the course description (the link at the top) about the use of online translators and other details of the course. Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): Украинский флаг в Одессе сменил Екатерину Великую / СНГ / Независимая газета .
Thursday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): XXX.
Week 10: Sunday 03/26/23 - Saturday 04/01/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): XXX.
Thursday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): XXX.
Week 11: Sunday 04/02/23 - Saturday 04/08/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
весенние каникулы
Thursday
весенние каникулы
Week 12: Sunday 04/09/23 - Saturday 04/15/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): XXX.
Thursday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): XXX.
Week 13: Sunday 04/16/23 - Saturday 04/22/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): XXX.
Thursday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): XXX.
Week 14: Sunday 04/23/23 - Saturday 04/29/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): XXX.
Thursday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): XXX.
Week 15: Sunday 04/30/23 - Saturday 05/06/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): XXX.
Thursday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): XXX.
Week 16: Sunday 05/07/23 - Saturday 05/13/23 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read and translate as much as you have time for (no more than an hour for each class): XXX.
Week 17: Sunday 05/14/23 - Saturday 05/20/23 [show/hide]
 
 
This Web site uses custom Russian fonts with accented vowels (ЂђЃ Љљѓ ЌќЊ, etc.).
If your browser does not display them correctly, follow these directions.
Dept. of Comparative Literature • Russian Language Program • 240 Goldwin Smith Hall • Cornell University • Ithaca, NY 14853-4701, USA
tel. 607/255-4155 • fax 607/255-8177 • email slava.paperno@cornell.edu