Russian 6633: Syllabus
This is last year's syllabus and schedule. The program and schedule for this semester will be defined at the organizational meeting (see Course Description and come to the meeting, announced on the Welcome page).
Week 1: Sunday 08/20/17 - Saturday 08/26/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
No assignment--come to the meeting.
Week 2: Sunday 08/27/17 - Saturday 09/02/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Макс: рассказ «Недовольный петух»
Никита: «О сорняках»
Боря: доклад «Как ни считай республиканские голоса, а Трамп все равно побеждает»
Week 3: Sunday 09/03/17 - Saturday 09/09/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Леор и Лиза: авторский перевод «Письма в Россию» Набокова. Дискуссия первая (см. также this critical examination )
Иосиф: Любовь и смерть у Homo Sovieticus по Светлане Алексиевич (version 1, uncorrected)
Ира: художественный перевод отрывков мемуара одной девушки
Week 4: Sunday 09/10/17 - Saturday 09/16/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Макс: «Федор. Часть 1»
Никита: Частичный ремикс отрывков из Гуфа плюс необозначенные отрывки из Ника
Боря: русский перевод первой части сказки Андерсена «The Little Match Girl»
Week 5: Sunday 09/17/17 - Saturday 09/23/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Иосиф: Три аспекта творчества Светланы Алексиевич (version 1, uncorrected))
Общая дискуссия лекции и бесед с Алексиевич
Week 6: Sunday 09/24/17 - Saturday 09/30/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Лиор и Лиза: Набоков. «Расстрел». The Execution (русский текст также здесь). Анализ
Боря: русский перевод второй части сказки Андерсена «The Little Match Girl»
Макс: «Федор. Часть 2»
Week 7: Sunday 10/01/17 - Saturday 10/07/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Иосиф: перевод стихотворения Пушкина «Свободы сеятель пустынный...», с комментариями (version 1, uncorrected)
Week 8: Sunday 10/08/17 - Saturday 10/14/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Осенние каникулы
Week 9: Sunday 10/15/17 - Saturday 10/21/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Общее задание: переведите письмо Татьяны (любую его часть, письмо довольно длинное) из «Евгения Онегина». Перевод может быть рифмованный, нерифмованный, ритмический или написанный белым стихом, или даже прозаический. Можете сверяться с существующими переводами (или даже заимствовать из них). Translation by Ch. Johnston is here (search for XXXI). An anonymous translation of the letter is here. Here is Nabokov's translation (in Chapter 3, scroll about 40% down, or search for "Tatiana's letter"). You can find several translation in Olin library, too.

An entire chapter of this scholarly work is written on the letter (in English). Some 40 translations of the opening stanza of Evgeny Onegin are quoted here. This may be interesting to look at, too.

Translations (discussed and finalized):
Макс
Ира
Боря
Леор
Иосиф (version 1, uncorrected)
Лиза
Никита

Week 10: Sunday 10/22/17 - Saturday 10/28/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Week 11: Sunday 10/29/17 - Saturday 11/04/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Никита: Высокотехнологическое сельское хозяйство
Иосиф: Три перевода стихотворения Мандельштама. Презентация (version 1, uncorrected).
Week 12: Sunday 11/05/17 - Saturday 11/11/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Общее задание: Pussy Riot (based on the Cornell PunkFest session and any materials from YouTube or elsewhere).
Иосиф: Introductory presentation. Дискуссия (version 1, uncorrected, does not cover the entire class).
Week 13: Sunday 11/12/17 - Saturday 11/18/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Леор и Лиза: перевод стихотворения Пушкина «Поэт и толпа». Дискуссия
Макс: «Федор. Часть 4»
Боря: Случай на пляже – два варианта одной истории
Week 14: Sunday 11/19/17 - Saturday 11/25/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Занятие переносится на 6 декабря:
A discussion of linguistic relativity. View, skim, or read any part of any publication in Joseph's list of sources to get ideas for a 5-to-7 minute presentation. The list with numerous links was sent to everyone by email on December 2.
Week 15: Sunday 11/26/17 - Saturday 12/02/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Трамп!
Week 16: Sunday 12/03/17 - Saturday 12/09/17 [show/hide]