RUSSA1103 Course Syllabus in the Russian Language Program at Cornell University
Russian 1103: Syllabus
Week 1: Wednesday 08/27/13 - Tuesday 09/02/13
Wednesday
No assignment. In class: introduction to the course.
Monday
Labor Day, no class
Week 2: Wednesday 09/03/13 - Tuesday 09/09/13
Wednesday
Listen and imitate: Chapter 1.
Dialogs: 2, 4, 5, 6.
Monday
Read, analyze, do substitutions and memorize in Chapter 1.
Dialogs: 7, 8, 9.

Optional: Practice singing or pronouncing the lyrics of song “Kalinka” using the karaoke video at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BMSrQ-xAPAE. You can also watch this video clip.

Week 3: Wednesday 09/10/13 - Tuesday 09/16/13
Wednesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 2.
Dialogs: 8, 9, 12.
Monday
Read, analyse, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 3.
Dialogs:1, 2, 3.
Week 4: Wednesday 09/17/13 - Tuesday 09/23/13
Wednesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 3.
Dialogs: 7, 8, 10.

Optional: Practice pronouncing and singing «Крутится, вертится шар голубой» at this karaoke site: http://www.karaoke.ru/records/17486361

Monday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 4.
Dialogs: 6, 7, 11.
Week 5: Wednesday 09/24/13 - Tuesday 09/30/13
Wednesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 5.
Dialogs: 3, 6, 8.
Monday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 6.
Dialogs: 2, 9, 10.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.
Week 6: Wednesday 10/01/13 - Tuesday 10/07/13
Wednesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 7.
Dialogs: 6, 7, 12.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to utilize the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Monday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 8.
Dialogs: 3, 4, 8 .

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 7: Wednesday 10/08/13 - Tuesday 10/13/13
Wednesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 9.
Dialogs: 3, 5, 6.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Monday
Fall break
Week 8: Wednesday 10/15/13 - Tuesday 10/21/13
Wednesday
No class today.

If you haven't met with Raissa for "pronunciation clinic" yet, write to her to make an appointment for the next week.

Monday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 10.
Dialogs: 3, 5, 10.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 9: Wednesday 10/22/13 - Tuesday 10/28/13
Wednesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 11.
Dialogs: 4, 10, 11.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Monday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 12.
Dialogs: 5, 7, 12.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 10: Wednesday 10/29/13 - Tuesday 11/04/13
Wednesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 13.
Dialogs: 3, 6, 11.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Monday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 14.
Диалћги: 3, 10, 11.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 11: Wednesday 11/05/13 - Tuesday 11/11/13
Wednesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 15.
Диалћги: 4, 7,10.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Monday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 16.
Диалћги: 1, 4, 8.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 12: Wednesday 11/12/13 - Tuesday 11/18/13
Wednesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 17.
Диалћги: 5, 8, 9.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to utilize the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Monday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 18.
Диалћги: 2, 3, 6.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 13: Wednesday 11/19/13 - Tuesday 11/25/13
Wednesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 19.
Диалћги: 4, 8, 11.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Monday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 20.
Диалћги: 4, 7, 10.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 14: Wednesday 11/26/13 - Tuesday 12/02/13
Wednesday
Bring the course material that you would like to review. We will also work on a Thanksgiving-themed picture story in this class.
Monday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 21.
Диалћги: 7, 11, 12.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 15: Wednesday 12/03/13 - Tuesday 12/09/13
Wednesday
With your classmates, in pairs or in small groups, write, memorize, and prepare to act out a skit, at least four lines per actor. Use the vocabulary that you have learned in your Russian courses, pay attention to your pronunciation, and show your best grammar.
Monday
study week