Russian 3309-101 (non-native speakers): Syllabus
  • Rooms and times (navigation bar on the left): when, where, and who
  • Course Description: materials, homework guide, tests, grading
  • Course evaluation form: online, any time, anonymous
  • Fonts: if Russian accented vowels are not displayed correctly, see note at the bottom of the window.
  • Homework: each row in this table shows the assignment for the day.
  • Printable view of this syllabus
This is a TBA course. TBA means "time to be arranged" (to accommodate as many students as we can). We hold an organizational meeting for all TBA courses at the beginning of each semester. The time and place of the meeting are posted at our home page (click Welcome in the navigation bar).

See Course Description for lists of books that were read in this course in the past. The reading list for this semester will be discussed at the organizational meeting.

Week 1: Sunday 08/25/19 - Saturday 08/31/19 [show/hide]
Wednesday
No class. Come to the organizational meeting (click Welcome in the navigation bar and look under Current Announcements.
Week 2: Sunday 09/01/19 - Saturday 09/07/19 [show/hide]
Monday
Labor day
Wednesday
Александр Солженицин: Двучастные рассказы. Молодняк 1. http://magazines.gorky.media/novyi_mi/1995/10/dvuchastnye-rasskazy.html
Week 3: Sunday 09/08/19 - Saturday 09/14/19 [show/hide]
Monday
Александр Солженицин: Двучастные рассказы. Молодняк 2.http://magazines.gorky.media/novyi_mi/1995/10/dvuchastnye-rasskazy.html
Wednesday
Михаил Булгаков. Собачье сердце. Часть I. http://www.vehi.net/mbulgakov/sobach.html
Week 4: Sunday 09/15/19 - Saturday 09/21/19 [show/hide]
Monday
Михаил Булгаков. Собачье сердце. Часть II. Читать до слов «Пес удивился и совсем открыл оба глаза ...» http://www.vehi.net/mbulgakov/sobach.html
Wednesday
Михаил Булгаков. Собачье сердце. Часть II. Читать со слов «Пес удивился и совсем открыл оба глаза ...» до слов «Опять загремела вода, колыхнулась шляпа с перьями...".htt.net/mbulgakov/sobach.html
Week 5: Sunday 09/22/19 - Saturday 09/28/19 [show/hide]
Monday
Михаил Булгаков. Собачье сердце. Часть II Читать до конца. Часть III http://www.vehi.net/mbulgakov/sobach.html
Wednesday
Михаил Булгаков. Собачье сердце. Часть V. Читать до слов « <В полном составе домком во главе со Швондеромa»http://www.vehi.net/mbulgakov/sobach.html
Week 6: Sunday 09/29/19 - Saturday 10/05/19 [show/hide]
Monday
Михаил Булгаков. Собачье сердце. Часть V. Читать до конца. http://www.vehi.net/mbulgakov/sobach.html
Wednesday
Михаил Булгаков. Собачье сердце. Часть VI. Читать до слов «Он оторвал листок от блокнота и набросал несколько слов, затем раздраженно прочитал вслух.» http://www.vehi.net/mbulgakov/sobach.html
Week 7: Sunday 10/06/19 - Saturday 10/12/19 [show/hide]
Monday
Михаил Булгаков. Собачье сердце. Часть VI. Читать до конца.http://www.vehi.net/mbulgakov/sobach.html
Wednesday
Михаил Булгаков. Собачье сердце. Часть VII. http://www.vehi.net/mbulgakov/sobach.html
Week 8: Sunday 10/13/19 - Saturday 10/19/19 [show/hide]
Сегћдня суббћта, девятнђдцатое октябрї.
Monday
Fall Break
Wednesday
Михаил Булгаков. Собачье сердце. Часть VIII. http://www.vehi.net/mbulgakov/sobach.html
Week 9: Sunday 10/20/19 - Saturday 10/26/19 [show/hide]
Monday
Михаил Булгаков. Собачье сердце. До конца, включая Эпилог. http://www.vehi.net/mbulgakov/sobach.html
Wednesday
Александр Солженицин. Один день Ивана Денисовича. Online: Assignment 1.
Week 10: Sunday 10/27/19 - Saturday 11/02/19 [show/hide]
Monday
Александр Солженицин. Один день Ивана Денисовича. Online: Assignment 1.
Wednesday
Александр Солженицин. Один день Ивана Денисовича. Online: Assignment 2.
Week 11: Sunday 11/03/19 - Saturday 11/09/19 [show/hide]
Monday
Александр Солженицин. Один день Ивана Денисовича. Online: Assignment 3.
Wednesday
Александр Солженицин. Один день Ивана Денисовича. Online: Assignment 4.
Week 12: Sunday 11/10/19 - Saturday 11/16/19 [show/hide]
Monday
Александр Солженицин. Один день Ивана Денисовича. Online: Assignment 5.
Wednesday
Александр Солженицин. Один день Ивана Денисовича. Online: Assignment 6.
Week 13: Sunday 11/17/19 - Saturday 11/23/19 [show/hide]
Monday
Александр Солженицин. Один день Ивана Денисовича. Online: Assignment 7.
Wednesday
Александр Солженицин. Один день Ивана Денисовича. Online: Assignment 8
Week 14: Sunday 11/24/19 - Saturday 11/30/19 [show/hide]
Monday
Сергей Довлатов. «Чемодан.». Прочитайте третью часть, Номенклатурные полуботинки ..
Wednesday
День Благодарения.
Week 15: Sunday 12/01/19 - Saturday 12/07/19 [show/hide]
Monday
Сергей Довлатов. «Чемодан.». Прочитайте четвертую часть, Добротный двубортный костюм.
Wednesday
Сергей Довлатов. «Чемодан.». Прочитайте пятую часть, Офицерский ремень.,
Week 16: Sunday 12/08/19 - Saturday 12/14/19 [show/hide]
Monday
Group discussion: prepare 5-7 min presentation to do in class on one of the books that we were reading this semester. Be ready to defend your point of view and to answer your classmates’ questions.
 
 
This Web site uses custom Russian fonts with accented vowels (ЂђЃ Љљѓ ЌќЊ, etc.).
If your browser does not display them correctly, follow these directions.
Dept. of Comparative literature • Russian Language Program • 240 Goldwin Smith Hall • Cornell University • Ithaca, NY 14853-4701, USA
tel. 607/255-4155 • fax 607/255-8177 • email slava.paperno@cornell.edu